Feminist IS NOT a Dirty Word

30 Aug

FEMINISM DEFINED: “the theory of the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes”  <—- Does this sound scary???

 

When I was growing up, I was always drawn to strong female role models. I grew up in a relatively small mid-west town. My family was very liberal, and smart – I felt empowered. I also felt like the odd-one-out all the time. I saw and heard things on a daily basis that just didn’t sit well with me. I was constantly walking a fine line:  make my life easier by fitting in, or speak up and act on the things I didn’t agree with.

I definitely am a feminist. In fact, most of my friends are too. But why don’t we use that word more often? Why is it weird to tell a guy, or a group of people that you are a feminist? Because it’s not sexy? Well fuck you 🙂 I’m a feminist. And I think we need to all start using this word more. I am an informed, empowered young lady.  It doesn’t mean I always lead with that foot, or act like a “bitch”. I am not looking for an argument. In fact, I am looking to be exceedingly happy!! It simply means I have respect for myself and consider men and women equals…not so scary right?

So dudes, you really need to calm down and well, “relax”.  Just because I am a feminist, doesn’t mean I am going to bite your head off over something silly. We all make mistakes and say stupid things. (Like I always say “that’s retarded”….I KNOW I MUST STOP!) If you are well-intentioned and show me a decent level of respect, I am going to let you get away with a few things…maybe a lot of things if I find you funny too. Just don’t hate on feminists, because if you do, it probably means you have a small penis.

One Response to “Feminist IS NOT a Dirty Word”

  1. crg06 August 31, 2011 at 7:22 AM #

    Quoted By Robin Williams

    God gave us all a penis and a brain, but only enough blood to run one at a time.
    Quoted By Robin Williams add quote

    God gave us all a penis and a brain, but only enough blood to run one at a time.

    I’ll take a femintist women anyday, who wants someone thats not going to be an equal that you have to carry through life..Altho I do feel that women make it very hard on us males because they want to be pamperd at times and at other times they stand firm with claws out and want to fight their own battles.It is very hard to determine when she wants to be the lion or the cub. 99% of the time I’m wrong in reading the script.All in all i feel a women is what this country needs to get it out of the mess its in, My mother is a master at sqeezing a dollar ten out of a buck…

Leave a comment